About The Organisation

Iron and steel sector is the backbone of an economy. It is one of the primary vehicles of economic development of the country. Steel industry, a core of the core industries of Indian economy, started its journey since ancient times. India has now emerged as one of the significant steel producers in the world. India is currently the world’s third largest producer of crude steel and is expected to become the second largest producer of crude steel in the world soon. The Ministry of Steel is the apex body of Govt. of India for formulating all polices regarding steel industries and responsible for planning and development of iron and steel industry, development of essential inputs such as iron ore, limestone, dolomite, manganese ore, chromites, ferro-alloys, sponge iron etc. and other related functions. Seven (7) Central Public Sector Enterprises (CPSEs) – Steel Authority of India Ltd. (SAIL), Rashtriya Ispat Nigam Ltd. (RINL), National Mineral Development Corporation Ltd. (NMDC), MOIL Ltd., MSTC Ltd., MECON Ltd., KIOCL Ltd., their subsidiaries and one special purpose vehicle (ICVL) are working under the administrative control of Ministry of Steel. Ministry of Steel has rolled out two national landmark policies – (i) National Steel Policy – 2017, and (ii) Policy on Preference to Domestically Manufactured Iron & Steel Products. These policies will strengthen the Indian Steel Industry by creating self sufficiency in steel production by providing policy support & guidance to private manufacturers, MSME steel producers and CPSEs. It will also help to generate additional employment for 36 lakh people directly or indirectly. These policies seek to accomplish the PM’s vision of “Make in India” with the objective of nation building and to encourage domestic manufactures.

 Shri Binoy Kumar

Shri Binoy Kumar


Shri Binoy Kumar, IAS (TG:83) has taken over as Secretary, Ministry of Steel, Government of India, here today. He had been posted as Officer on Special Duty in the Ministry since 21st May 2018. Prior to this, Binoy Kumar held the post of Special Secretary, Logistics, in the Department of Commerce, where he continued to hold additional charge till 31st July 2018. He also held the post of Director General (Supplies & Disposals), where he developed the Government e-Marketplace (GeM) as a one-stop online public procurement platform, in line with the digital initiatives of the Government of India. Earlier, he also worked as Additional Secretary and Financial Adviser in the Ministry of External Affairs and Joint Secretary in Ministry of Defence. He has held various key positions in Andhra Pradesh. He now belongs to Telengana Cadre.